Home » Our community » Board of Trustees

Contact details

Arthur Street School
26 Arthur Street
Dunedin 9016
03 477 6524 office
03 477 6987 fax

Office manager: Michelle Vial


Sign up to our Newsletter

Board of Trustees

The Board of Trustees comprises of up to six elected parent representatives, an elected staff representative, and the Principal. The Trustees have the responsibility of Governing the School, ensuring it is run effectively and efficiently and complies with the relevant legislation and guidelines. The Trustees meet twice a term. Dates are included in newsletters and also below.

Our current Board of Trustees members;

Back Row Left to Right, Janine Cotton (Teacher Rep), Brent Russell, Michelle Vial (Secretary) & Rebecca Oskam-Schmidt

Front Row, Left to Right, Kim Blackwood (Principal), Darryl Sycamore (Chairperson) & John Hamilton.

Meet our members;

Darryl Sycamore

Kia ora, my name is Darryl Sycamore, and the chairman of the Board of Trustees at Arthur Street School.  I am employed by Federated Farmers as a policy advisor and have worked in the RMA regulatory environment for 15 years. My partner Karen and I have two boys who enjoy the opportunities and culture that Arthur Street School offers.

I feel extremely privileged to be in the role of Board chair, and am fortunate to work with a dedicated and professional team of trustees. We are also well supported in our strategic and governance roles by having a strong leadership team across the school.  Arthur Street School has innovative and committed educators who are focused on raising student achievement by providing a respectful and nurturing environment to all our students. Without doubt, our school is special.

I believe strongly that teachers, management, board and parents all have the best interests of their children at heart.  There also needs to be respect for differing points of view and a commitment to continually improve practice to ensure the best possible outcomes.  As a Board we are united in wanting the best for our school and your children. I am always available discuss the direction of our school, hearing any thoughts, or concerns that you may have.  

Rebecca Oskam-Schmidt

Tēnā koutou, my name is Rebecca Oskam-Schmidt. I have been a parent representative on the Board of Trustees at Arthur Street School since 2016. Previously I have served as an elected member on the Dunedin Hospital Early Childcare Centre Committee for 3 years and I work as a registered nurse in the Radiology Department at Dunedin Hospital. My family, Matt my husband, Jakob, Louis and Erica have been part of Arthur Street School for almost seven years and I have two of my three children currently attending, Louis in Room 6 and Erica in Room 1. I enjoy working with the board to ensure we provide quality education for our students, support for our staff and care for the school community. Over the past year I have been involved in the update of the Health and Safety policy, introducing a before school care programme and I recently attended the New Zealand School Trustees Association Annual conference in Dunedin to further my knowledge on governance of school boards.

Janine Cotton

I am the Staff Representative on our Arthur Street School Board of Trustees. My role on the board is to keep the staff informed of Board matters and to liaise between the Board and the Staff.

My career in Education began in 1992. I am trained and have separate qualifications in both Early Childhood Education and Primary Education. I have worked in the Primary Sector since 1999. I have been teaching at Arthur Street School since February 2014. I have the role of ESOL (English for Speakers of Other Languages) Teacher. Our school is a wonderful, culturally diverse place to be. I am privileged to have a special role of teaching English to our students for whom English is an additional language.

This is the first time I have been part of a Board of Trustees. I’m enjoying the experience and have been enlightened by the discussion and consideration that goes into making decisions to best serve our tamariki. I am excited to be serving alongside our progressive Principal and dedicated parent representatives.

When I’m not at school, I have an unpaid driving role, transporting my 3 teenage sons to various sporting venues around Dunedin. I also enjoy walking my dog and reading.

Brent Russell

Hi!  My name’s Brent Russell and I am the newest member of the board, joining the team at the beginning of 2017.  My partner Kylie and I have one boy, Cameron, who attends Room 1.  I am a founder and CTO at Igtimi and Yachtbot, where we create technology to improve the performance of elite athletes in sports such as sailing, canoe and kayak.  Earlier in my career I lectured at the Physics Department, Otago University, and worked on international broadcast television events. 

Subsequently I have a special interest in the role of science in education and preparing our kids for success on a global stage.  Arthur Street School is very fortunate to have a dedicated group of teachers, Principal, staff and board looking after the interests of a diverse group of great kids.  I feel very fortunate to be a part of this team and continue to look forward to being involved with the school’s management, parents, and students.

John Hamilton


2019 Meeting Dates

Do NOT follow this link or you will be banned from the site!